India v England, ODI Series – India Probable squad

Shahbaz Nadeem India
Shahbaz Nadeem. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After inflicting a thumping 4-0 win over England in the Test series, Team India is all set for the limited overs action. England will head back to India for 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is. While the English team has a tough task in picking up the right players, India have the problem of plenty. The Indian team will go in as the favorites for the limited-overs leg as well.

Nothing much is expected to change barring the inclusion of MS Dhoni. MS Dhoni will be back but not as the captain of the team. The last ODI series that India played was against New Zealand. They managed to cap it off 3-2. Their last T20I series was against Zimbabwe which they had managed to win as well.


The England series commences with the first ODI to be played at Pune on January 15. The selection committee will get their heads together in the first week of January 2017, to announce the 15-member squad for the series. There have been a lot of names flooding in the news about the team selection. Here we put down a probable squad for India v England ODI series:

Openers – KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma

KL Rahul is expected to make his comeback in limited-overs format after having missed out on the New Zealand series. The Karnataka batsman is in sublime form and had hit 199 in the final Test against England. Shikhar Dhawan, the out-of-favor Indian opener might be handed his last chance in the series. Rohit Sharma will also be back in India colors since he still has 15 days time in hand to prove his fitness. He is currently under rehab at the NCA.

Also read- CricTracker’s T20I XI of the year 2016

Middle order – Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina

Veteran batsman Suresh Raina is most likely to make his comeback to the Indian team. He is fit and raring to go. In case Ravindra Jadeja is rested, Raina can chip in as a part timer. Virat Kohli will be the mainstay of the middle order for the team. In addition to that, he will be handed full time captaincy of the limited overs as well. Manish Pandey has been a frequent name for India in the limited-overs team in the recent past.

Wicket-keeper – MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav

MS Dhoni will be the preferred wicket keeper in the team. After a long time, he will be in the side as a non-captain. Although the likes of Parthiv Patel are in line to be named as the reserve keeper, it is unlikely that in-form Kedar Jadhav will be dropped. Jadhav was the surprise element for India with both bat and ball in the recent series against New Zealand.

Allrounder – Hardik Pandya

Team India management had shown a lot of faith in all-rounder Hardik Pandya during the New Zealand series. There is no reason why they will opt a change after having a successful result. Pandya did a fair job with the new ball and also contributed with runs in the lower order.

Spinners – Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Parvez Rasool

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravi Ashwin might be given a rest before the long Test season. Shahbaz Nadeem can be the like for like replacement for Jadeja in the team. Nadeem is the leading wicket-taker in the ongoing Ranji Trophy season. Amit Mishra should retain his place after having picked a five-wicket haul against New Zealand in Vizag ODI. Parvez Rasool also deserves another look in after his decent show with both bat and ball in the Ranji Trophy for Jammu and Kashmir.

Also read- Yuvraj Singh says 2016 has made him a better player

Pacers – Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra

Jasprit Bumrah will spearhead the Indian bowling in the ODI series. Bhuveshwar Kumar might get his luck break back into the ODI setup as Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav are unlikely for the limited-overs series considering their Test load. Ashish Nehra can be the other pacer in the lineup. The experience of Nehra and provided that he is fit must help him make the cut in the squad of 15.

Probable Squad: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shahbaz Nadeem, Suresh Raina

Others in the fray: Kuldeep Yadav, Parthiv Patel, Mandeep Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Yuvraj Singh.