India vs Australia, 2020: 2nd ODI – Kuldeep and Rahul’s milestones, High-scoring game without a ton, End of Australia’s streak in Asia and more stats

India vs Australia, 2020: 2nd ODI – Kuldeep and Rahul’s milestones, High-scoring game without a ton, End of Australia’s streak in Asia and more stats

All the statistical highlights from India’s maiden ODI win at the SCA Stadium in Rajkot.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India levelled the 3-match ODI series against Australia with a 36-run win in a high-scoring Rajkot ODI where 644 runs were scored. The fifties from Shikhar Dhawan (96 off 90), Virat Kohli (78 off 76) and KL Rahul (80 off 52) helped India to finish with a formidable total of 340/6.

Australia lost their openers cheaply this time but Steve Smith’s 98 and Marnus Labuschagne’s 46 kept them in the hunt. Aussies kept losing wickets once the 96-run partnership between this duo was broken. They eventually got bundled out for 304 in 49.1 overs as some late hitting helped them to narrow the losing margin.

All the statistical highlights from India’s maiden ODI win at the SCA Stadium in Rajkot:

India ends Australia’s streak in Asia:

9 – This Indian win brought an end to Australia’s 9-match winning streak in Asia. The Australia team last lost an ODI in Asia was during the last year’s series in India at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur. Australia won three consecutive matches in that series after the defeat and later whitewashed Pakistan 5-0 during a series in UAE. The 10-wicket win in the first match of this series in Mumbai extended Australia’s streak in Asia to 9.

A rare feat as keeper by Rahul:

80 – KL Rahul’s 80 is the highest score by an Indian wicketkeeper in an ODI while scoring at 150+ strike rate. The previous was MS Dhoni’s 72* off 46 balls at 156.52 strike rate in the 2006 Lahore ODI against Pakistan.

1 – Only one player in ODI history has scored more than KL Rahul at 150+ strike rate in a match alongside three fielding dismissals. Jos Buttler scored 150 off 77 balls in last year’s St George’s ODI against West Indies where he also bagged three dismissals.

Kuldeep @ 100:

58 – Matches Kuldeep Yadav needed to complete 100 wickets in ODI cricket; the 3rd fastest Indian after Mohammed Shami (56) and Jasprit Bumrah (57). He is also the fastest Indian spinner to the milestone bettering Harbhajan Singh who got there in 75 ODIs.

A tough day with the ball for Starc:

0/78 – The 78 runs conceded by Mitchell Starc in this match are the 2nd most he conceded in an ODI. The most number of runs he conceded in an ODI was 79 during the 2015 Manchester ODI against England.

This was the 6th time that Starc conceded 70+ runs in an ODI; the 3rd most times in this format by an Australian after Mitchell Johnson (8) and Brett Lee (7).

Rohit @ 7000:

137 – Rohit Sharma completed 7000 runs in ODI cricket as an opener in only 137 innings; the fewest among the 11 players with this milestone. The previous fastest to 7000 ODI runs as an opener was Hashim Amla in 147 innings.

Stats: Rohit Sharma completes 7000 runs in ODI cricket as an opener

Kohli @ 4000:

4009Virat Kohli became only the 7th player to amass 4000 runs in International Cricket against Australia. Kohli is the 2nd Indian player to achieve this feat after Sachin Tendulkar who has 6707 runs against the Aussies.

Rahul @ 1000:

27 – Innings KL Rahul needed for completing 1000 runs in ODI cricket; the 4th fastest Indian to the milestone. Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan got there in 24 innings while Navjot Singh Sidhu completed 1000 ODI runs in 25 innings.

3 – Only the 3rd time KL Rahul has won the player of the match award in ODI cricket. The other two awards came during his debut ODI series in 2016 on Zimbabwe tour. Rahul scored 103* and 63* in the 1st and 3rd matches of his ODI career where he won match awards.

Rohit-Dhawan continues to excel against Australia:

1367 – The duo of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan shared 1367 runs as a pair in ODI cricket against Australia. These are the most runs by a pair in ODIs between India and Australia. The Rohit-Dhawan pair went past 1364 runs by the David Boon and Geoff Marsh’s pair.

Kohli-Zampa story continues:

5 – Adam Zampa became the first spin bowler to dismiss Virat Kohli on five occasions in ODI cricket. Ravi Rampaul (6), Thisara Perera (5) and Tim Southee (5) are the other bowlers to claim Kohli’s wicket 5+ times in this format.

A high-scoring match without a century:

644 – This match aggregate of 644 runs is now the highest in an ODI hosted by Asia without an individual hundred surpassing the 643 runs during the Asia XI vs Africa XI match in 2007 at Chepauk. The 644 runs are also the 4th highest match aggregate without an individual century in the format. The highest is 656 runs during the 2002 Port Elizabeth ODI between South Africa and Australia where the best individual score was 92 by Ricky Ponting.

During the 2007 Bristol ODI between England and India, a total of 649 runs were aggregated as Sachin Tendulkar top-scored with a 99. The last year’s Leeds ODI between England and Pakistan had a match aggregate of 648 runs where the highest score was recorded by Sarfaraz Ahmed with 97 runs before getting run out.