India vs West Indies 3rd T20I, Stats: Rahul, Rohit and Kohli bag records with brutal batting in the series decider

Rohit set the platform for a big score with a 34-ball 71 while Kohli raced to an unbeaten 29-ball 70.

KL Rahul, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma
KL Rahul, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: Twitter)

KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli’s performances are considered to be key to India’s success in the T20I format. The trio did not let down that fact and the huge crowd that turned up at the Wankhede for the decider against West Indies.

Rohit set the platform for a big score with a 34-ball 71 while Kohli raced to an unbeaten 29-ball 70 walking to bat at No.4 in the 13th over. KL Rahul stood still the last over and top-scored with a 56-ball 91 that included nine fours and 4 sixes. The three knocks helped India to finish with a match-winning score of 240/3.


All the stats and numbers recorded by the Indian batsmen in the Wankhede T20I:

1 – India’s innings is the first-ever in the Twenty20 history to witness three scores of 70 and more. The previous highest score which was achieved by three players in the same T20 innings was 67. Yorkshire’s Tom Kohler-Cadmore (96*), Adam Lyth (69) and Nicholas Pooran (67) scored 67+ runs in this year’s T20 Blast match against Leicestershire.

3 – The pair of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul became only the 6th in Men’s T20Is to share three century partnerships. Three of those six pairs are from India and all three involved Rohit. The limited-overs vice-captain shared four 100-run opening stands with Shikhar Dhawan and three century partnerships with Virat Kohli.

7 – India recorded only the 7th instance of three players scoring fifties in the same T20I innings in Men’s cricket. Six of those came since the start of 2016 which included Australia’s effort in October against Sri Lanka at the Adelaide. The lone instance of three half-centurions in a Men’s T20I innings till 2015 was recorded by India in the 2007 WT20 match against England.

7 – The seven sixes by Virat Kohli are the most for him in a T20I innings surpassing the six he hit during the Bangalore T20I against Australia this year and also the same number of maximums during the first T20I of this series.

21 – Number of balls Kohli needed for completing his fifty; the 5th fastest half-century for India in the T20I format. In fact, this is the fastest fifty by an Indian captain in any International format. The previous fastest was in 23 balls by Rohit during the 2017 Indore T20I against Sri Lanka and also in the Rajkot T20I this year against Bangladesh while leading the Indian team.

91 – KL Rahul’s 91-run knock is the 3rd highest score in a T20I series decider in Men’s cricket. Rohit Sharma scored an unbeaten 100 during the last year’s Bristol T20I against England when India were chasing 199 to win the series. Earlier in 2016, Hashim Amla scored 97* against Australia in the decider hosted by Cape Town.

240/3 – India’s total of 240/3 is their 3rd highest total in the T20I format. Their highest was 260/5 during the 2017 Indore T20I against Sri Lanka while the 2nd biggest total being 244/4 during the 2016 Lauderhill T20I where they fell 1-run short of West Indies’ total in the chase.

404 – Rohit Sharma became the first Indian and only the 3rd player in International cricket to hit 400 sixes. Rohit got there with the first maximum of his 71-run knock.

354 – Rohit also completed 350 sixes in Twenty20 cricket with his first six of the match. He is now the 1st Indian and only the 10th player to hit 350 T20 sixes thus far.

1064 – Virat Kohli became the first player to aggregate 1000 runs in the T20I format on the Indian soil. He completed the milestone with first of his seven sixes during this match. He is overall the 4th player to aggregate 1000 T20I runs in a country.

Watch: South African spinner bowls with both hands in MSL 2019