IPL 2019: Final, Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – Statistical Highlights

All the major stats and numbers recorded during the thrilling finale in Hyderabad.

Shane Watson
Shane Watson. (Photo: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Mumbai Indians clinched the IPL title for the record 4th time after defeating Chennai Super Kings by the narrowest margin of one run in the final. MI cruised to 45/0 by 5th over before CSK bowlers put breaks whenever MI tried to take the charge. Super Kings restricted their arch-rivals to 149/9 and later got off to a great start in the second innings. Rahul Chahar in the middle overs and Jasprit Bumrah at the death ensured MI stayed in the thick of the skin before Lasith Malinga delivered a perfect last over to help MI win the game.

All the major stats and numbers recorded during the thrilling finale in Hyderabad

A record title for MI

4 – Mumbai Indians became the first team to win four IPL titles. They did by defending a total on all four instances including three times against the Chennai Super Kings. MI was the first to win it three times when they won it in 2017.


MI makes it 4-0

2 – Mumbai Indians became only the 2nd side defeat an opponent four times in an IPL season. MI defeated the Chennai Super Kings twice in the league stage and once each in the first qualifier and final. CSK achieved this feat when they defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in the last season.

Rohit tops the lists

4Rohit Sharma became the first captain to win four different titles as a captain. He edged past MS Dhoni, the opposition captain in this game, who has three titles as a skipper.

5 – Rohit Sharma also became the first player to be part of five won finals in the IPL. Rohit won the IPL title for the first time in 2009 with Deccan Chargers and won it on four seasons with Mumbai as a captain.

6 – Rohit has a 100% win record in the Twenty20 tournament finals as a captain having won all the six he featured in as a captain. Only MS Dhoni won more T20 finals as a captain as the keeper-batsman stood victorious in seven finals out of the 13.

9 – Rohit now has been involved in nine wins in tournament finals in the T20 format; the most by any Indian. He went past Suresh Raina who was involved in eight T20 final victories.

Chahar and Bumrah held the key for MI

14 – Runs Rahul Chahar and Jasprit Bumrah conceded in their four overs in this game; the joint 2nd fewest runs conceded by any bowler in an IPL final. (All four overs bowled) Washington Sundar gave away only 13 runs in the 2017 season final for RPS against MI.

Tahir’s record-breaking year

26 – Number of wickets for Imran Tahir in this IPL, the most by a spinner in a single edition of the IPL. He went past 24 wickets claimed by Sunil Narine for KKR in 2012 and Harbhajan Singh for MI in 2013.

Dhoni goes past Karthik:

132 – MS Dhoni now has 132 dismissals to his name in the IPL; the most dismissals for any keeper in the IPL. He went past Dinesh Karthik’s 131 dismissals with his 2nd of the two catches he took in this game.

Rohit @ 4000

4001 – Rohit Sharma became the first player to aggregate 4000 runs in the T20 format for Mumbai Indians. Rohit got to this milestone with a boundary off Harbhajan Singh in the 4th over.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch Predictions,
Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on