IPL 2019: Qualifier 2, Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals – Statistical Highlights

All the major stats and numbers recorded from Q2 as CSK make a comfortable entry into the final.

Harbhajan Singh
Harbhajan Singh. (Photo: IANS)

The defending champions Chennai Super Kings made it to the IPL final for the record 8th time by defeating the Delhi Capitals in the 2nd Qualifier. A tight bowling effort from CSK didn’t allow the Delhi Capitals to post a big total. In the pursuit of the 148-run target, the Super Kings got off to a slow start. However, Faf du Plessis showed signs of aggression in the late half of the powerplay with Shane Watson joining his partner. Both the openers scored exactly 50 as CSK completed the chase with an over to spare.

All the major stats and numbers recorded from Q2 as CSK make a comfortable entry into the final:

The contrasting journeys:

8 – Chennai Super Kings make it to an IPL final for the 8th time; the most by any team. Mumbai Indians have made it to the final in five different seasons including this season. In fact, CSK played the playoff/knockout stage in the ten editions they played.


0 – Delhi Capitals/Daredevils are yet to feature in an IPL final despite being part of each and every edition of the IPL. All the remaining eight franchises that featured in five or more IPL editions have made it to the final at least once.

The 100th for both teams:

100 – Chennai Super Kings registered their 100th victory in the IPL and became the 2nd team with as many IPL wins. Mumbai Indians was the first team to achieve this feat earlier in the season.

100 – This was Delhi Capitals/Daredevils’ 100th defeat in the Twenty20 format that includes 93 defeats in the IPL. They are the 4th team and the 2nd team from India after Royal Challengers Bangalore to lose 100 Twenty20s.

Harbhajan goes up the charts:

150 – Harbhajan Singh completed 150 wickets in the IPL by dismissing Sherfane Rutherford. He is now the 4th player and the 3rd from India to bag 150 wickets in this league.

24 – Harbhajan became the leading wicket-taker in the IPL against the Delhi Capitals/Daredevils when he dismissed Shikhar Dhawan in the powerplay. Bhajji was tied with Lasith Malinga on 22 wickets before this game.

A first for Boult:

1 – The six off Ravindra Jadeja in the final over was Trent Boult’s maiden boundary in Twenty20 cricket. He faced 60 balls in this format before this match but never hit a six or four.

Contributions all over:

9 – As many as nine Delhi Capitals players hit at least one boundary in this game; the joint-most number of players hitting a boundary in an IPL inning. This is the 8th such instance in the IPL while the last one was recorded by Rajasthan Royals in their home game against Super Kings only.

Chahar gets Prithvi again:

4 – Deepak Chahar dismissed Prithvi Shaw in all the four meetings in the IPL. The pacer conceded 27 runs off 29 balls to the youngster and was hit for 4 fours and a six.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on