Lowest Powerplay Score in IPL History

The Indian Premier League is arriving with its seventeenth edition, and is set to enthral the fans once again. The fans too seem geared up for yet another action-packed edition, as they might see their favourite cricketers play for their favourite franchise for one last time before the mega auction ahead of the 2025 season.

Over the years, fans have seen several All-time IPL records being broken in every season of the competition. However, there are some records that no one wants to break. Powerplay is an important phase of a T20 match as it can make or break the game for a side.  

A good powerplay start sets up the match nicely for both the batting and bowling teams, as they can further tighten their grip on the opposition if they’ve brought them under pressure during the first six overs. While some teams don’t have a good IPL head-to-head record against a particular opposition, some have the ignominy of featuring in the list of the lowest powerplay scores in the history of the tournament.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have seen it all in their IPL history, while they’ve got the highest total in the history of the tournament to their name, they’ve also scored the lowest total in the tournament’s history. The Bengaluru-based franchise also have one more unwanted record to their name, which is of the lowest powerplay score in the league’s history.

RCB could only manage to score 14 runs for the loss of two wickets against Rajasthan Royals in the 2009 edition of the tournament. They’re tied with Sunrisers Hyderabad at the top, who scored 14 runs for the loss of three wickets against Rajasthan Royals in the 2022 edition.

IPL's Lowest Powerplay Score from 2008 to Present (2024)

2009 RR vs RCB 14/2 Cape Town
2022 SRH vs RR 14/3 Pune
2011 CSK vs KKR 15/2 Kolkata
2015 CSK vs DC  16/1 Raipur
2019 CSK vs RCB 16/1 Chennai

*Last updated on 25th May 2024