Men's T20 World Cup 2020: ICC announces the schedule of the tournament

Men’s T20 World Cup 2020: ICC announces the schedule of the tournament

The Super 12 Round will begin on October 24.

World T20 trophy
T20 World Cup Trophy (Photo by Jan Kruger-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the schedule of the T20 World Cup 2020 which will be held in Australia. For the first time, the Men’s and Women’s tournament will take place as the standalone events. The Men’s World Cup is set to start on October 18 and will go on until November 15. A total of 12 teams will fight it out for the glory as the top eight-ranked teams qualify directly for the Super 12 round.

Afghanistan is the notable team to qualify directly having ranked eighth in the ICC T20I rankings. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will play the qualifiers which is determined as the first Round of the event. A total of eight teams will fight for the four places in the qualifiers. The remaining six teams for the First Round will be determined via a qualifying tournament to be held later in 2019.

Super 12 to start on October 24

Australia, the hosts, will start their campaign with the Super 12 round (main round) against the World’s top-ranked team Pakistan on October 24 at the SCG. India, on the other hand, will lock horns against South Africa on the same day at the Perth Stadium. The tournament will take place across eight cities and 13 venues.

Windies will start their title defence on October 25 at the iconic MCG against New Zealand. The two semi-finals will be played on November 11 and 12 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and the Adelaide Oval respectively. The final, like the Women’s, will be played at the MCG and a record crowd of over 90 thousand is expected to turn out.

First Round qualifiers

Group A: Sri Lanka, QA2, QA3, QA4

Group B: Bangladesh, QB2, QB3, QB4

Note: The schedule of First round qualifiers will be confirmed later

Super 12 Men’s Pools

Group 1: Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies, A1, B2

Group 2: India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, B1, A2

Here’s the detailed schedule (Super 12)

Oct 24: Australia v Pakistan at SCG

Oct 24: India v South Africa at Perth Stadium

Oct 25: New Zealand v West Indies at MCG

Oct 25: QA1 v QB2 at Bellerive Oval

Oct 26: Afghanistan v QA2 at Perth Stadium

Oct 26: England v QB1 at Perth Stadium

Oct 27: New Zealand v QB2 at Bellerive Oval

Oct 28: Afghanistan v QB1 at Perth Stadium

Oct 28: Australia v West Indies at Perth Stadium

Oct 29: India v QA2 at MCG

Oct 29: Pakistan v QA1 at SCG

Oct 30: England v South Africa at SCG

Oct 30: West Indies v QB2 at Perth Stadium

Oct 31: Pakistan v New Zealand at The Gabba

Oct 31: Australia v QA1 at The Gabba

Nov 1: India v England at MCG

Nov 1: South Africa v Afghanistan at Adelaide Oval

Nov 2: QA2 v QB1 at SCG

Nov 2: New Zealand v QA1 at The Gabba

Nov 3: Pakistan v West Indies at Adelaide Oval

Nov 3: Australia v QB2 at Adelaide Oval

Nov 4: England v Afghanistan at The Gabba

Nov 5: South Africa v QA2 at Adelaide Oval

Nov 5: India v QB1 at Adelaide Oval

Nov 6: Pakistan v QB2 at MCG

Nov 6: Australia v New Zealand at MCG

Nov 7: West Indies v QA1 at MCG

Nov 7: England v QA2 at Adelaide Oval

Nov 8: South Africa v QB1 at SCG

Nov 8: India v Afghanistan at SCG


Nov 11: SCG

Nov 12: Adelaide Oval


Nov 15: MCG

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from New Zealand vs India seriesMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on