New Zealand vs Australia Head to Head | New Zealand vs Australia H2H Stats & Records in T20 World Cup

New Zealand vs Australia Head to Head record in T20Is and T20 World Cup

Australia dominate New Zealand in terms of head-to-head record in T20Is.

Australia cricket team
Australia cricket team. (Photo by INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP via Getty Images)

Trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand and Australia will lock horns in the high-voltage final clash of the T20 World Cup 2021. The encounter takes place at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday (November 14). It has indeed been a fascinating campaign for these sides as neither Australia nor New Zealand started the tournament favourites. In fact, they were underdogs in their respective semi-final clashes against Pakistan and England respectively. However, the two neighbours defied the odds and qualified for the summit clash. Now, everything boils down to one game and both teams would be raring to lift the elusive title.

Head to Head record:

Australia dominate New Zealand in terms of head-to-head record in T20Is. These two teams have played 14 T20I matches so far. Out of which 9 have been won by the Aussies while the Kiwis have won five games. As far as T20 World Cups are concerned, these two teams have met just once and the head-to-head record stands 1-0 in New Zealand’s favour.


Played Won by New Zealand Won by Australia Tie No Result
14 5 9 0 0

T20 World Cups

Played Won by New Zealand Won by Australia Tie No Result
1 1 0 0 0

Top Performers:

Dashing New Zealand opener Martin Guptill boasts of an exceptional record against the Aussies in T20Is. He has scored the most runs (435) in the clashes. Among active cricketers, the veteran is followed by Aaron Finch (251) and Glenn Maxwell (206). The bowling chart is topped by Ish Sodhi. He has picked up the most wickets (16). The leg spinner is followed by Ashton Agar (13), and Kane Richardson (10).

T20 World Cup meeting:

As mentioned above, Australia and New Zealand met just once in T20 World Cups. That meeting occurred in the 2016 edition of the competition. The Kiwis elected to bat after winning the toss in Dharamsala. While many New Zealand batters got starts, none of them could play a substantial knock.

James Faulkner and Glenn Maxwell took two wickets apiece as the Blackcaps were restricted to a below-par looking 142/8 in their allotted 20 overs. However, Australia’s chase wasn’t smooth by any means as they lost wickets at regular intervals. Mitchell McClenaghan bagged a three-fer as the Aussies were restricted to 134/9, losing the contest by eight runs.


Winner Won By Venue  Date
Australia 44 runs Auckland 17 Feb 2005
Australia 54 runs Perth 11 Dec 2007
Australia 1 run Sydney 15 Feb 2009
Australia 6 wickets Wellington 26 Feb 2010
New Zealand Super Over Christchurch 28 Feb 2010
New Zealand 8 runs Dharamsala 18 Mar 2016
Australia 7 wickets Sydney 3 Feb 2018
Australia 5 wickets Auckland 16 Feb 2018
Australia 19 runs Auckland 21 Feb 2018
New Zealand 53 runs Christchurch 22 Feb 2021
New Zealand 4 runs Dunedin 25 Feb 2021
Australia 64 runs Wellington 3 Mar 2021
Australia 50 runs Wellington 5 Mar 2021
New Zealand 7 wickets Wellington 7 Mar 2021

T20 World Cups

Winner Won By Venue  Date
New Zealand 8 runs Dharamsala 18 Mar 2016

For all the latest T20 World Cup live scores, news, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.