PBKS vs CSK Head to Head Record in IPL History

After a glorious IPL in 2014 where they reached the finals, PBKS have not qualified for the playoffs even once.

View : 1.8K

72 Min Read

KL Rahul and MS Dhoni
KL Rahul and MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Punjab Kings are now having a new captain in the form of Shikhar Dhawan, and they would be hoping to have a change of fortunes as well. The Punjab team is yet to win a title in IPL history so far, and have failed miserably in the last few seasons. In 2014, PBKS reached the finals and after that they have not qualified for the playoffs even once and have finished at the bottom of the points table twice.

Chennai Super Kings, on the other hand, have been performing pretty well since the inception of IPL. They have won the title for four times. CSK won their fourth trophy in 2021 season while Punjab Kings are yet to grab a title.

PBKS vs CSK Head to Head:

In IPL history so far, both teams have played 28 games out of which 16 have been won by the CSK team, while Punjab have won the rest of the 12 matches. Both teams met in a high-profile qualifier match in IPL 2014, where Punjab were successful in winning to attain a place in the finals. Suresh Raina played a memorable knock of 87 runs in just 25 balls in that game.

Matches Played CSK Won PBKS Won Tie No Result
28 16 12 0 0

All-Time Top Performers:

Suresh Raina is ruling the charts as far as the top batsman in the clashes between two teams are concerned. He has scored the most runs (719), followed by Faf du Plessis (593) and MS Dhoni (572). Raina’s only IPL century has also come against the Punjab team. Among the bowlers, R Ashwin and D Bravo both share the first spot with 18 wickets each, followed by Albie Morkel (12) at the third spot.

Punjab vs Chennai in Last Seasons:

Both the teams last faced each other iwas on 30th April 2023 in Chennai, where PBKS emerged victorious by four wickets. Batting first, Chennai posted a huge total of 200/4 in 20 overs. Devon Conway scored 92 runs and good little cameo of 37 from Ruturaj Gaikwad helped them achieve 200. In response to 200, Prabhsimran Singh(42) and Liam Livingstone (40) helped PBKS to Chase 2001 in 20 overs. 

Punjab vs Chennai in All Seasons Stats:

Date Winner Won by Venue
30 - Apr - 2023 PBKS 4 wickets Chennai
25-Apr-2022 PBKS 11 Runs Mumbai
03-Apr-2022 PBKS 54 Runs Mumbai
7-Oct-2021 PBKS 6 Wickets Dubai
16-Apr-2021 CSK 6 Wickets Mumbai
1-Nov-2020 CSK 9 Wickets Abu Dhabi
4-Oct-2020 CSK 10 Wickets Dubai
5-May-2019 PBKS 6 Wickets Mohali
6-Apr-2019 CSK 22 runs Chennai
21-May-2018 CSK 5 wickets Pune
16-April-2018 PBKS 4 runs Mohali
16-May-2015 CSK 7 wickets Mohali
25-April-2015 CSK 97 runs Chepauk
2-Oct-2014 CSK 65 runs Hyderabad
30-May-2014 PBKS 24 runs Mumbai
7-May-2014 PBKS KXIP won in super over Cuttack
18-April-2014 PBKS 6 wickets Abu Dhabi
2-May-2013 CSK 15 runs Chepauk
10-April-2013 CSK 10 wickets Mohali
17-May-2012 PBKS 6 wickets Dharamshala
28-April-2012 PBKS 7 runs Chepauk
13-Apr-2011 PBKS 6 wickets Mohali
18-April-2010 CSK 6 wickets Dharamshala
21-March-2010 PBKS KXIP won in super over Chepauk
20-May-2009 CSK 24 runs Durban
7-May-2009 CSK 11 runs Centurion
31-May-2008 CSK 9 wickets Mumbai
10-May-2008 CSK 18 runs Chepauk
19-April-2008 CSK 33 runs Mohali

*Last Updated: 30th April 2023.

For all the latest IPL news, live scores, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store