Reports: IPL 2022 Mega Auction to take place towards end of December or January first week

Reports: IPL 2022 Mega Auction to take place towards end of December or January first week

A franchise can retain a maximum of four players ahead of the mega auction.

IPL auction
IPL auction. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The IPL 2022 is all on cards for April 2022 as per reports but it is all set to see a mega auction ahead of it. As per the latest reports, the mega auction is set to take place by the end of December or January first week in 2022. It has to be noted that all eight franchises have been asked to submit the list of their retained players by today (November 30).

Once the retentions are clear, it is believed that teams can work for their process for mega auction. Talking in terms of retentions, the maximum limit for the same stands to be four and teams can even wish to not retain even a single player. However, if they retain four, they can be in combination of three Indians and an overseas player or two Indians and overseas each.

As per the reports by the Times of India, it has been stated that the mega auction is likely for late December and early January but the BCCI is yet to give a final word on this. Before this, it was reported that IPL 2022 will be played from the first week of April 2022 and the final will be played in the first week of June. The defending champions Chennai Super Kings will start the proceeding for the new season but their competitors are still not finalized.

CSK to retain MS Dhoni while MI to stick with Rohit Sharma as per reports

It has to be noted that two new teams have entered the Indian T20 League and will fight for glory from the upcoming season. In this case, they are allowed to buy certain players outside the mega auction and they would be from the lot released by other franchises.  Though the final retentions are yet to be made official by the respective franchises, the assumptions around teams are quite clear.

It is being reported that CSK will retain the legendary skipper MS Dhoni while DC will keep holding the hand of Rishabh Pant. Even MI will be sticking with their skipper Rohit Sharma and ace pacer Jasprit Bumrah.