Saif Hassan fined for staying in India with expired visa

Saif Hassan fined for staying in India with expired visa

Saif Hassan didn't even play a match on the tour.

Saif Hassan
Saif Hassan. (Photo by Dianne Manson-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

As if the heavy defeats in India were not enough, Bangladeshi cricketer Saif Hassan has been fined for overstaying in the country after the end of the two-match series. In the absence of the likes of Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal, Bangladesh failed miserably in India and suffered crushing defeats in the T20Is and the Tests.

And the sojourn in India became even more forgettable for Saif Hassan as he messed up with the visa. He was set to leave India on Monday but was sent back to the team hotel from Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport in Kolkata. The cricketer had failed to provide a valid visa at the airport and was thus asked to take the required steps.

Earlier this year, he had received a six-month Indian visa ahead of his participation in the Dr (Capt) K Thimmappaiah Memorial Cricket Tournament for BCB XI in Bangalore and Mysore in July. The six-month period came to an end on November 24. However, Hassan could not leave for Bangladesh in time and thus had to pay the fine.

The cricketer, who was a part of Bangladesh’s Test squad, paid a fine of Rs 21,600 at the Indian High Commission in Dhaka and an exit visa was sent to him according to Times Now. He eventually left India for Bangladesh on Wednesday (November 27).

A disastrous tour for Bangladesh

Bangladesh started their tour of India with a bang by winning the first T20I in Delhi against all the odds. It was their first-ever T20I win over India. However, that was the only time the Tigers had something to cheer for on the tour as India won all the remaining games after that loss. They won the remaining two T20Is to clinch the three-match series.

In the succeeding Test series, India did not even give Bangladesh a slender of a chance of doing well. The hosts won both the games in less than three days to extend their winning run in the ongoing ICC World Test Championship. The Virat Kohli-led side won both the Tests by an innings and have now seven Tests in a row.

[interaction id=”5dcd637bd42ed3f7503f9729″]