'Hope you are watching everything Sai Baba'- Prithvi Shaw shares emotional message after India snub

Prithvi Shaw was snubbed for India's white-ball tour of New Zealand

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw. (Photo Source: Instagram)
Chaitanya Prakash

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 3.5K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Exciting Indian opener Prithvi Shaw has yet again found himself warming the benches, as the youngster was excluded from the Indian squad that will tour New Zealand after the conclusion of the T20 World Cup next month. The youngster, who was ignored by the national selectors yet again, expressed his feelings via an Instagram story after the Indian squad was announced on Monday.

The Men in Blue will take on the Kiwis in three T20Is and three ODIs. The New Zealand tour will kickstart with the T20I series, scheduled to commence on November 18. Young Indian opener Prithvi Shaw was expected to be called up to the squad with the regular openers KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma rested for the T20I and ODI series.

But when Chetan Sharma, current chairman of selectors, announced the squad for the upcoming white-ball  tour of New Zealand, the explosive batter was overlooked yet again. He took to Instagram to express his feelings after the latest omission, posting a picture of Sai Baba and captioning it, "Hope you are watching everything Sai Baba."

Hardik Pandya will lead the Indian team in T20Is on the New Zealand tour

Ace all-rounder Hardik Pandya will once again don the role of captain in the T20I series with Rishabh Pant being named his deputy in the absence of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. Meanwhile, veteran opening batter Shikhar Dhawan will lead the Men in Blue in the 50-over format with Pant acting as the vice-captain in the longer format of the game as well.

Indian fast bowling sensation Umran Malik gets another bite at the cherry on the New Zealand tour. While Kuldeep Sen has got his maiden call-up to the national team for the ODI series against the Kiwis.

India Squad for NZ T20Is

Hardik Pandya (C), Rishabh Pant (vc & wk), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), W Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik

India Squad for NZ ODIs

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Rishabh Pant (vc & wk), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wk), W Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik