Stats: Karnataka clinche the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 with a record winning streak

All the major stats and numbers recorded during the final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 2018/19.

Manish Pandey
Manish Pandey with the trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Karnataka clinched the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy for the first time by defeating Maharashtra in the final by a comfortable 8-wicket victory. Naushad Shaikh’s unbeaten 41-ball 69 helped Maharashtra finish with 155/4 in their 20 overs. The Rohan Kadam and Mayank Agarwal pair counter-attacked the Maharashtra bowlers after losing BR Sharath early on in the innings. They added 92 for the 2nd wicket in only 9.5 overs before Rohan got out for a 39-ball 60. Mayank remained unbeaten on 85 from 57 balls and hit the winning runs.

All the major stats and numbers recorded during the final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 2018/19:

6 – Karnataka became only the 6th Indian domestic team to win the Inter-State tournaments in all formats. Tamil Nadu, Bengal, Gujarat, Delhi and now Karnataka have won at least one title of Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20. Uttar Pradesh is the other team with this triple having shared the Vijay Hazare Trophy once with the game ending in a Tie.


14 – Karnataka now has won each of their previous 14 Twenty20 matches; the joint 2nd longest winning streak for any team in this format. Karnataka won all the 12 matches in this season and their last two during the previous edition of Syed Mushtaq Ali.

Sialkot Stallions of Pakistan won as many as 25 games in a row between 2006 and 2010. Among Indian teams, Kolkata Knight Riders’ 14-match winning streak in 2014 was the longest. The current Karnataka skipper Manish Pandey was a part of all the 14 matches for KKR across IPL and CLT20 in 2014.

Most consecutive victories for a team in Twenty20 cricket:

522 – Runs aggregated by Karnataka’s opener Rohan Kadam in this tournament; the first player to score 500 runs in a single edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Shreyas Iyer’s 484 runs and Pratham Singh’s 438 runs in this tournament are 2nd and 3rd most runs scored by any player in any edition of Mushtaq Ali trophy.

Kedar Devdhar and Rishabh Pant scored 411 runs apiece during the 2017/18 season; the only other instances when a player scored over 400 runs in an SMA T20 edition.

20 – Satyajeet Bachhav of Maharashtra is only the 3rd bowler to claim 20 or more in a single edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20. Lukman Meriwala of Baroda in 2013/14 claimed 21 wickets while Mehul Patel of Gujarat also picked up 20 wickets in the 2012/13 season.

However, Bachhav conceded 43 runs in the final from his four overs where he needed two more wickets to bag the record for most wickets in a Mushtaq Ali season.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Indian domestic cricket, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on