Stats: Players with four consecutive ducks in T20 cricket

The likes of Tim Southee and Lasith Malinga are the holder of this embarrassing record.

Aditya Tare
Aditya Tare. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Aditya Tare, the wicket-keeper and captain of Mumbai, is the latest player to register four consecutive ducks in the shortest format of the game. He is currently playing in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament in the zonal league. Tare bagged ducks in the first couple of games against Baroda and Gujarat before which he failed to open his account against RPS and MI in the last couple of games of the Indian Premier League (IPL). However, he saved himself from the embarrassment of becoming the first ever player to bag five consecutive ducks in T20 cricket.

He scored 39 off 23 deliveries and returned to the form in the third game for his side as Mumbai could only post 130 runs against Saurashtra while batting first. Despite winning the toss and batting first, they struggled throughout their innings and were bundled out in 19.3 overs. Saurashtra now will look to gun down the target with ease and hand their opposition, their second defeat in three games. A loss in this match will make Mumbai’s qualification to the next round extremely difficult.

Malinga and Tim Southee also in the list

Though Aditya Tare has bagged four consecutive ducks in this format, he is not the first one to do so. There are as many as eight players who have achieved this not so famous feat. But the only thing going against Tare is most of them are bowlers unlike him who is the top-order player. The first man to enter this list was Chandrasekar Ganapathy from Tamil Nadu who didn’t get off the mark in four consecutive T20 matches.

Players with four consecutive ducks in T20s

Shane Shillingford is the next cricketer who was dismissed on duck in four back-to-back matches while playing for Dominica and Winward Islands. The likes of Tim Southee and Lasith Malinga have also managed to get their names on the board in this case. Even the former Indian cricketer and now commentator, Murali Karthik is also the holder of this record which he managed while featuring for Royal Challengers Bangalore and Railways during the 2013-14 season.

Follow CricTracker for more Stats