Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018: Day 10 Round Up

Suresh Raina's Uttar Pradesh registered a big win to bow out of the tournament, but he personally failed once again.

Rishabh Pant |
Rishabh Pant. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The League stages of the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament finally came to an end with few cracking games energizing the spirits of the fans. Punjab made it to the next stages surprising everyone whilst the likes of Mumbai, Jharkhand, and Vidarbha are through as well. Karnataka and Rajasthan finished as the table toppers in their respective groups’ thanks to their consistent performances.

Rajasthan suffered their only defeat of the tournament in the hands of Railways on Tuesday. Salman Khan and Tajinder Dhillon propelled Rajasthan to a total of 150 batting first. They picked up early wickets with the ball. But Mahesh Rawat and Chanderpal Saini played a couple of crucial innings in the middle overs to help them chase the total in 19.3 overs.


Rishav Das’s blazing half-century helped Assam post a decent total batting first against the very strong Bengal. Skipper Manoj Tiwary ensured they didn’t finish on a good note by registering figures of 4/23, which reduced Assam to 143/9. It was Manoj Tiwary yet again with the bat, who stroked a fifty and Bengal chased the total down in 17.1 overs.

Rishabh Pant continues his purple patch

Once again, Delhi’s main man Rishabh Pant proved to be a match-winner with a mind-boggling inning. His 64 off 32 balls, powered by some cameos from Nitish Rana and Pradeep Sangwan, helped Delhi post a mammoth 225 runs on board. Nakul Sharma and Ravi Chauhan’s half-centuries helped them close to the target, but they managed only 203 runs.

In the East Zone, Odisha got humiliated in the hands of Jharkhand. Batting first, Odisha got bowled out for 123 runs with Govinda Poddar registering a fifty. Monu Kumar returned with figures of 4/14 in his four overs. In reply, former U19 India captain Ishan Kishan and Ishank Jaggi helped Jharkhand condense the total in 16.4 overs.

Suresh Raina’s Uttar Pradesh registered a big win to bow out of the tournament, but he personally failed once again. They first managed to restrict Chhattisgarh for a paltry 113 for the loss of 8 wickets. Akshdeep Nath and Rinku Singh help their nerves during the run chase after early wickets and helped their kill the target in 11.4 overs.

Brief Scores

Delhi v Services, North Zone

Delhi: 225/8 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant 64, Pradeep Sangwan 29; Nitin Yadav 3/53)

Services: 203 all out in 19.1 overs (Ravi Chauhan 53, Nakul Sharma 53; Kulwant Khejroliya 3/38)

Rajasthan v Railways, Central Zone

Rajasthan: 150/6 in 20 overs (Tajinder Dhillon 43, Salman Khan 40; Amit Mishra 2/34)

Railways: 151/6 in 19.3 overs (Chanderpal Saini 41, Mahesh Rawat 37)

Chhattisgarh v Uttar Pradesh, Central Zone

Chhattisgarh: 113/8 in 20 overs (Amandeep Khare 33; Saurabh Kumar 2/16)

Uttar Pradesh: 114/4 in 11.4 overs (Akshdeep Nath 43*, Rinku Singh 33)

Jharkhand v Odisha, East Zone

Odisha: 123 all out in 19.4 overs (Govinda Poddar 64; Monu Kumar 4/14)

Jharkhand: 129/2 in 16.4 overs (Ishan Kishan 51, Ishank Jaggi 40)

Assam v Bengal, East Zone

Assam: 143/9 in 20 overs (Rishav Das 53; Manoj Tiwary 4/23)

Bengal: 147/4 in 17.1 overs (Manoj Tiwary 63*, Anustup Majumdar 34)

For more news and updates from the cricketing world, keep tracking