Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22: Here's the prize money for winners and runners-up

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22: Here’s the prize money for winners and runners-up

It was the first-ever loss of Karnataka in their white-ball final.

Tamil Nadu
Tamil Nadu. (Photo Source: BCCI)

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy has been witnessing pure domination by the South Indian sides, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu to be specific in the last four years. The final of the 2021-22 edition was no different and saw a high-octane clash between Karnataka and Tamil Nadu where Vijay Shankar and his men lifted their record third title.

However, now that the all-important domestic tournament is over, let’s take a look at what teams will be carrying with them as their prize amounts. The winner (Tamil Nadu) of the SMAT 2021-22 will get Rs 10 Lakh, on the other hand, the runner-up (Karnataka) will walk away with Rs 5 Lakh.

It has to be noted that this was the first instance where Karnataka lost its white-ball final. The stage was set for both sides to dominate the proceedings and towards the end, it was a scintillating six by Shahrukh Khan that pushed Tamil Nadu to clinch the glory by four wickets. Khan was declared as the player of the match for his 15-ball 33.

Tamil Nadu wins the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy for the third time

“There were a lot of things in my mind, but I tried to keep it simple. The ball was rough and the wicket was slow, so I wanted to connect it off the middle. I was waiting to hit it over long-on, and I got the room to get it over square leg. We played a bit slow in the middle, but that’s the trend of our team – the roles are well-defined, and the top order had trust in me and Mohammed. He (Mohammed) has been a special talent so thanks to him. It has been a special thing to hit a last-ball six. I’ll remember this for a long time,” said Shahrukh Khan after winning the player of the match award.

Batting first, Karnataka posted 151 runs on the board and Sai Kishore stepped up as the bowling star from Tamil Nadu’s side by picking three wickets while conceding at 3.00. The chase game was pulled off perfectly by the Shankar’s men where N Jagadeesan (41) and Khan (33) played crucial roles.