Top 10 captains with most wins in World T20

Top 10 captains with most wins in World T20

Captaincy in cricket is more demanding than in any other team sport. Not only does the captain has to be a consistent performer for the team, but also needs to have the motivational skills to get the best out of others. In the shortest format of the game, T20s, a captain has to be on his toes at all times because of the pace at which the game is played. Captaincy records, though, do not always give the correct picture. The quality of the team can be a major factor in a captain’s record. Here’s a look at 10 captains and their record in World T20 matches.

10. George Bailey- 5

Aus v Ind 3rd ODI
Australia’s George Bailey. (Photo by GREG WOOD/AFP/Getty Images)

George Bailey led the Aussies in 10 matches in the mega event. Under his captaincy the men from Down Under won 5 and lost an equal number of matches. He was the skipper of the Australian side in the 2012 edition in Sri Lanka and the next one in 2014 that was hosted by Bangladesh. In the first one the Aussies reached the semi-final however were defeated by the eventual champions West Indies. In Bangladesh, the team failed to qualify for the semi-final and had a disappointing campaign. Bailey is an important member of the Australian ODI team however no longer features in the T20 setup.

9. Daniel Vettori- 6:

Daniel Vettori
(Photo Source: Twitter)

Daniel Vettori led the Kiwis in 12 matches in the global tourney. Under his captaincy, New Zealand won 6 and lost 7 matches. He was the skipper of the national side in the first 3 editions from 2007 to 2010. In the inaugural edition in South Africa, the Kiwis lost in the semi-final against Pakistan. The team failed to qualify for the semis in the next two editions in England and West Indies. The left-arm spinner has a glorious career in all formats for his country and retired from international cricket after the 50-over World Cup final in 2015 in Melbourne against Australia which the home side won.

8. Darren Sammy- 6:

Darren Sammy World T20
West Indies captain Darren Sammy. (Photo by DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP/Getty Images)

Darren Sammy will lead the West Indies in the 2016 World T20. He has been a successful skipper for his side in the shortest format. In 2012, he lifted the trophy by defeating the home side, Sri Lanka. In 2014, his side lost against the same opponent and the eventual champions in the semi-final in a rain-affected match. Under his captaincy, the team has won 6 matches, lost 4, tied 1 and experienced a no result on one occasion in 12 World T20 matches. The ever-smiling Sammy has a powerful team that will want to repeat their 2012 heroics in India.

7. Mohammad Hafeez- 6:

Mohammad Hafeez
Pakistan’s Mohammad Hafeez. (Photo by DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP/Getty Images)

Mohammad Hafeez has led Pakistan in 10 matches in the World T20. Under his captaincy, the Asian giants won 6 and lost 4 matches. He was the skipper of the national side in the 2012 and 2014 editions. In Sri Lanka, the team lost against the home side in a low-scoring semi-final. In Bangladesh, the team failed to qualify for the semis and had a poor tournament. Hafeez continues to be a vital member of the side however no longer leads the side in any format.

6. Mahela Jayawardene- 6:

Mahela Jayawardene
Mahela Jayawardene. (Photo Source: BCCI)

Mahela Jayawardene led Sri Lanka in 11 matches in the World T20. Under his captaincy, the islanders won 6 matches and lost 4 while 1 match resulted in a tie. He was the skipper of the side in the 2007 edition where the team failed to qualify for the semis. In 2009 and 2010, Kumar Sangakkara led the side. Mahela’s return to captaincy in the 2012 edition at home proved successful until the final hurdle as the spirited West Indian proved too strong for the Lankan Lions. The two legends ultimately lifted the cup under Lasith Malinga’s captaincy as Sri Lanka defeated India in the 2014 final.

5. Micheal Clarke- 6:

Micheal Clarke
(Photo Source: Getty Images)

Micheal Clarke led the Aussies in only one edition of the World T20. In 2010 in the Caribbean, the Aussies won 6 out of 6 matches however were beaten comprehensively in the final by old foes England. This was after Australia had won an incredible semi-final against Pakistan courtesy a Michael Hussey special. Clarke’s international retirement came at the end of a lost Ashes campaign in England in 2015, but he will be satisfied with a career punctuated by fine achievements.

4. Paul Collingwood-8:

Paul Collingwood
Paul Collingwood. (© Getty Images)

The English all-rounder led his country in 3 editions of the marquee event. England won 8 matches and lost an equal number of matches while one match ended in a no result under Collingwood’s captaincy. The team failed to qualify for the semis in the first two editions that included an embarrassing loss at Lord’s against the Dutch. Collingwood though led his team in style to lift the 2010 World T20 in West Indies. Defeating arch-rivals Australia in the final would have meant icing on the cake for the England side. The former skipper is currently a part of England’s coaching staff and will motivate the young side in India.

3. Kumar Sangakkara- 10:

Sangakkara and Jayawardene
Kumar Sangakkara. (Photo Source: ICC)

The Lankan legend led his country in 14 World T20 matches. The team won 10 of these matches and experienced a defeat on 4 occasions. In 2009, in England, the islanders reached the final however lost against Pakistan. In the next edition in 2010 in West Indies the team was beaten by eventual champions England.  Sangakkara is rated as one of the game’s all-time greats and the elegant left-hander had a remarkable career for the island nation.

2. Graeme Smith- 11:

Graeme Smith
Graeme Smith. (© STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN/AFP/Getty Images)

The former South African skipper, Graeme Smith is one of the most respected captains to have ever played the game. His leadership and his batting were all about being direct and upfront. He had a magnificent career for the Proteas in all formats. He led his country in 16 World T20 matches. The team won 11 of these matches and experienced a defeat on 5 occasions. In 2007 at home and in 2010 in West Indies, the South Africans failed to qualify for the semis however in 2009, In England, the team did so but were outdone by eventual champions Paksitan in a closely fought encounter.

1. MS Dhoni- 17:

MSD 2007 T20WC
(Photo Source: MidDay)

The Indian limited overs skipper has led the team from the inaugural edition of the World T20 and will do so at home in 2016. Under Dhoni’s captaincy, the team lifted the cup in South Africa in 2007 by defeating arch-rivals Pakistan in a dramatic final. The following 3 editions were disappointing for the Men In Blue as they failed to qualify for the semis. India was strong favourites to lift the cup in 2014 however lost against Sri Lanka in the final in Dhaka.

(All stats updated till 16th March 2016)

Also read: Top 10 teams with lowest team scores in World T20s