Vijay Hazare Trophy, 2017-18: Day 5 – Statistical Highlights

All the stats and numbers that matter from the 5th day of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017/18.

Ishant Sharma
Ishant Sharma. (Photo Source: Twitter)

A couple of terrific batting performances were recorded as big totals were recorded and even chased down during the nine matches of Vijay Hazare Trophy on day five. Rajat Patidar’s 158 inspired Madhya Pradesh to a huge win against Tamil Nadu in a 300+ chase while Rajasthan’s Amitkumar Gautam struck an unbeaten 149 to defeat Mumbai. The Indian limited-overs team discards Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja failed to pick a wicket in the ten overs.

All the stats and numbers that matter from the 5th day of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017/18:

1Ravichandran Ashwin went wicketless for the first time in 2017/18 Vijay Hazare Trophy. He picked two, two and three wickets respectively in the previous three games. In the last 20 List A innings where Ashwin bowled more than one over for Tamil Nadu, he went wicketless only twice and picked more than one wicket in 15 of them.


1 – Andhra’s one-wicket win against Goa while chasing 189 is their narrowest win in terms of wickets in List A cricket. This is the 3rd time Goa lost by a 1-wicket margin in this format.

3 – Uttar Pradesh conceded 300+ in all the three matches they played in this season so far. Maharashtra and Delhi scored 343/5 and 307/6 respectively while Bengal posted 322/10 against UP today. They never conceded 300+ in List A cricket before this season. Uttar Pradesh’s total of 329/4 in the same game is UP’s 4th highest total in List A cricket and the 2nd highest for any team against Bengal behind Tamil Nadu’s 379/6 in 2009/10 season.

5 – Chhattisgarh defeated Jammu and Kashmir by five runs while defending their total of 251. The last season’s Vijay Hazare game between two teams ended with Chhattisgarh winning by four runs while defending 235.

30 – Number of overs Ravindra Jadeja bowled in this Vijay Hazare Trophy without taking a wicket. He bowled ten overs in all three games he played for Saurashtra in this tournament without taking a wicket. He turned wicketless in each of his last six List A games despite bowling 58 overs.

64 – Runs Delhi Captain Ishant Sharma conceded in his nine overs against Maharashtra without taking a wicket. The remaining Delhi bowlers conceded 168 in 41 overs taking nine wickets.

149* – Amitkumar Gautam’s unbeaten 149 against Mumbai is the 2nd highest individual score in List A for Rajasthan behind Gagan Khoda’s 166* against Railways in 2005/06. This is also the highest score for any player against Mumbai behind Pinal Shah’s 157* against Baroda in 2007/08.

158 – Rajat Patidar’s 158 against Tamil Nadu is the 2nd highest individual score in List A cricket for Madhya Pradesh. Naman Ojha scored 167 against Railways in the 2009/10 season.

209 – The 209-run stand for the 2nd wicket between Patidar and Rameez Khan is the highest partnership for any wicket in List A cricket against Tamil Nadu. Fayaz Ahmed and Venugopal Rao of Andhra shared a 205-run stand for the 3rd wicket in 2002/03 season.

Amitkumar and Mahipal Lomror put on 177 for the 4th wicket against Mumbai which is the 2nd biggest stand for any wicket in List A cricket for Rajasthan after Ashok Menaria and AR Gupta’s 185-run partnership against MP in 2014/15.

278 – Hyderabad’s successful run-chase of 278 against Saurashtra is the 2nd biggest run-chase in List A cricket at the RGI Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad. Karnataka chased down 296 in the 2014/15 season at this venue against Hyderabad.