Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19: BCCI releases quarter-finals schedule of the tournament

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19: BCCI releases quarter-finals schedule of the tournament

Mumbai will lock horns against Bihar in the first quarter-final.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The quarter-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19 were decided after an intense finishing to the group stage. Haryana and Jharkhand grabbed the final two quarter-final berths from Group C after four teams battled it out for them. Both the teams eventually made it after Tamil Nadu lost to Haryana and Services were defeated by Rajasthan.

Mumbai and Maharashtra qualified for the knockout stage from Group A with just two points differentiating them. Delhi, Andhra and Hyderabad qualified from Group C with the first two teams having the same points but Delhi finishing on top with a better run-rate. Bihar, on the other hand, qualified for the quarter-finals for being the topper of the Plate Group.

Mumbai will take on Bihar in the first quarter-final at the Just Cricket ground while Delhi will lock horns with Haryana at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Both the games will be played on October 14. While Maharashtra and Jharkhand will play each other at the iconic venue, Andhra and Hyderabad will meet at the Just Cricket on the very next day according to the BCCI‘s official website.

Rohit Sharma back in Mumbai side

Former champions Mumbai will be bolstered in their knock-out campaign by the presence of Rohit Sharma who has decided to play in the closing stages of the domestic tournament till he returns to the national side for the ODI series against the Windies.

Mumbai are yet to lose a game in this year’s Vijay Hazare Trophy as they won six out of eight games with two remaining inconclusive. Bihar and Jharkhand are the two other teams who haven’t dropped a game in this tournament in the group stage, out of their nine and eight encounters, respectively.

Maharashtra, Haryana, Delhi and Andhra have lost one match each while Hyderabad have lost the most number of games in their campaign so far: two. Hyderabad would consider themselves lucky for having qualified for the quarters as they were helped by victories of Delhi and Maharashtra. The abandoning of two Punjab games also helped their cause. Punjab would regret their campaign as rain washed away their chances to make it to the last eight.

Here’s the detailed schedule:

October 14 – Quarter-final 1: Mumbai vs Bihar; Just Cricket, Bangalore; 9 AM IST

October 14 – Quarter-final 2: Delhi vs Haryana; Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore; 9 AM IST

October 15 – Quarter-final 3: Maharashtra vs Jharkhand; Just Cricket, Bangalore; 9 AM IST

October 14 – Quarter-final 4: Andhra vs Hyderabad; Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore; 9 AM IST

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.