Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021: Day 7 – Round-Up

Chris Gayle’s 22-ball 84 in Team Abu Dhabi’s 9-wicket win over Maratha Arabians was the highlight of the day.

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. (Photo Source: Abu Dhabi T10 League)
Pratyay Tiwari


View : 394

4 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

The 4th edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League is only three days away from its closure, and the Super League phase is nearing its end. The 7th day of the league commenced with the clash between the Qalandars and the Bangla Tigers. After the Qalandars were put in to bat, a 28-ball 49 from skipper Sohail Akhtar and Ben Dunk’s 31 from 16, after the early strike from George Garton, who dismissed Tom Banton for a five-ball duck, led them to a somewhat par total – 104/3

After losing their openers – Johnson Charles and Andre Fletcher – cheaply, Chirag Suri (16 from 12) and Tom Moores (39 from 21) joined forces to keep the chase alive. However, wicket-taking spells from Sohail Tanvir and Mohammad Zahid, who got two wickets each, in tandem with some tight bowling from Ahmed Daniyal and Chris Jordan, suffocated the Tigers, who eventually fell 7 runs short of the target.

The second fixture between the Maratha Arabians and Team Abu Dhabi was simply a one-man show, that of Chris Gayle, who came amongst the runs after a host of failures. Batting first, the Arabians had set a target of 98 on the back of Alishan Sharafu, who got 33 from 23 including three sixes, and a 13-ball 20 from Mohammad Hafeez. Obed McCoy grabbed a couple of wickets alongside Naveen ul Haq and Jamie Overton, who got one each.

During the response, Chris Gayle arrived with a bang, and pummeled 9 sixes and 6 fours in his 22-ball blitzkrieg. Having raced off to his half-century from merely 12 deliveries, he continued his carnage with brutal force, until he took his team across the line of victory rather singlehandedly. Such was his dominance that out of the 98 needed for a win, as many as 84 came from his bat as Team Abu Dhabi sealed the game in only 5.3 overs, with 9 wickets in hands.

A spectacular bowling effort from Wayne Parnell, who returned with three wickets in a 5-run spell, and Wahab Riaz (2/20) continued to dent any momentum that the Pune Devils found in the third fixture of the day. Openers Tom Kohler-Cadmore and Alex Davies got off to starts, only to fall soon after. It was thanks to a 16-ball 27 from skipper Nasir Hossain after Kennar Lewis’ 9-ball 24, which led the Devils to 97/8 against Northern Warriors.

As much as the previous fixture belonged to Gayle, this one belonged to Waseem Muhammad, who went berserk during Warriors’ response. Slamming Monir Hossain for a whopping 35 runs in the second over, Muhammad notched up his half-century at a lightning pace – 12 balls. From the opposite end, Brandon King (20 from 9) slapped a couple of shots too.

Though the Warriors lost him and Nicholas Pooran in quick succession, Muhammad’s ridiculous assault, which included 7 maximums, had already nailed the chase. Rovmann Powell came alongside him to complete the formalities as the Warriors gunned down the target in only 4.3 overs.

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021, Brief scores, Day 7

Qalandars vs Bangla Tigers – 19th Match

QAL:  104/3 (10 overs) – Sohail Akhtar (49 from 28), Ben Dunk (31 from 16); George Garton 1/8, Karim Janat 1/11

BT: 97/6 (10 overs) – Tom Moores (39 from 21), Chirag Suri (16 from 12); Sohail Tanvir 2/20, Mohammad Zahid 2/28

Result: Qalandars won by 7 runs.

Maratha Arabians vs Team Abu Dhabi – 20th Match

MA: 97/4 (10 overs) – Alishan Sharafu (33 from 23), Mohammad Hafeez (20 from 13); Obed McCoy 2/20, Naveen ul Haq 1/21, Jamie Overton 1/21

TAD: 100/1 (5.3 overs) – Chris Gayle (84 from 22); Mosaddek Hossain 1/22

Result: Abu Dhabi won by 9 wickets.

Pune Devils vs Northern Warriors – 21st Match

PD: 97/8 (10 overs) – Kennar Lewis (24 from 9), Nasir Hossain (27 from 16), Tom Kohler-Cadmore (20 from 9), Wayne Parnell 3/5, Wahab Riaz 2/20

NW: 98/2 (4.3 overs) – Wasim Muhammad (56 from 13); Brandon King (20 from 9); Sam Wisniewski 2/14

Result: Warriors won by 8 wickets.

T10 League – Match 20 Highlights