England vs New Zealand

Upcoming - 1st Match - Ahmedabad

ICC Cricket World Cup


New Zealand

5 Oct 2023, Thur, 2:00 PM IST

Pakistan vs Netherlands

Upcoming - 2nd Match - Hyderabad

ICC Cricket World Cup



6 Oct 2023, Fri, 2:00 PM IST

Bangladesh vs Afghanistan

Upcoming - 3rd Match - Dharamsala

ICC Cricket World Cup



7 Oct 2023, Sat, 10:30 AM IST

South Africa vs Sri Lanka

Upcoming - 4th Match - Delhi

ICC Cricket World Cup

South Africa

Sri Lanka

7 Oct 2023, Sat, 2:00 PM IST

India vs Australia

Upcoming - 5th Match - Chennai

ICC Cricket World Cup



8 Oct 2023, Sun, 2:00 PM IST

Cricket World Cup 2023

The eagerly-anticipated 2023 ODI World Cup will commence on October 5, as defending champions England will square off against New Zealand in the curtain raiser at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The BCCI and the ICC have shortlisted 10 cities as the World Cup 2023 Venues and an additional two venues for the warm-up fixtures. 

The Assam Cricket Association Stadium in Guwahati and the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram are the two other venues that will host the warm-up games from September 29 to October 3.

As many as 10 teams will participate in the global marquee event to battle it out for the coveted title. India (host), New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa are the eight teams that earned a direct qualification, whereas the finalists of the ODI World Cup Qualifiers will earn the last two spots in the World Cup.

Going by the ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List, Australia have won the most number of titles in the history of the competition, lifting the prestigious trophy a record five times (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015). They are also the only other team to have won the trophy in consecutive years along with West Indies (1975, 1979). Thus far, six nations have attained glory since the first edition of the World Cup in 1975.

The 2023 ODI World Cup will also be the first time in the tournament’s history that the mighty Windies will not be a part of the ICC event. This came after the side lost three games on the trot in the Super Six stage of the World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe, thereby ending their chances of qualification.

Speaking about the 13th edition of the mega ODI event, hosts India will play their first match against the Aussies at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on October 8. The high-voltage fixture between the Men in Blue and Babar Azam’s Pakistan will be played on October 15 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The summit clash of the event will be held on November 19 in Ahmedabad.