FTP gives separate window to the Indian Premier League

The April-May window has been left blank in the latest ICC FTP.

Avesh Khan of Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL
IPL. (Photo: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)
Sameer Allana

Freelancer Correspondent

View : 4.2K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The stature of the Indian Premier League (IPL) as a globally recognized tournament enhanced further as the league is all set to find a dedicated space for itself in the ICC calendar. The latest Future Tour Programme (FTP) commencing from 2019 till 2023 has recognised the IPL. This means that it is the only domestic league during which there would be no international cricket played around the world.

Over the recent years, we have often witnessed less international games during the IPL season. However, allowing the league a separate window is a major indication at the importance of the domestic T20 contest. A lot of international cricketers have preferred playing the Indian Premier League even over the call to represent the national team.

Thus, the demand for an isolated window has always been around. The ICC seemed to avoid the discussion with the view that other domestic leagues may also desire a slot of their own. However, seems like that argument has been put to rest.


The general manager of the International Cricket Council, Geoff Allardice recently met BCCI CEO Rahul Johri ahead of the workshop. The FTP preparations were probably discussed in the meeting following which the April-May period has been left blank in the newest FTP.

The Indian Premier League is slated to begin on 4th April next year and end on the 27th of May. The schedules of the upcoming seasons have also been mentioned in the Future Tour Programmes. The IPL schedule for the next five years are – 3rd April to 26th May (2019); 1st April to 31st May (2020); 31st March to 30th May (2021); 30th March to 29th May (2022); 29th March to 28th May (2023).

There are still two international fixtures that may coincide with the IPL. The two series are to be played between Ireland and Zimbabwe and England and Netherlands.