India vs West Indies: Visitors announce squads for the T20I and ODI squads

Shai Hope has been left out of the T20I squad.

West Indies
West Indies. (Photo Source: Twitter)

In the wake of the shocking T20I series loss to Afghanistan, reigning T20I world champions West Indies have dropped Shai Hope and Alzarri Joseph from their 15-man squad for the upcoming series against India. Hope, who had got a place in the team as a cover for Denesh Ramdin, managed to play one game and scored a fifty too.

However, he took 46 balls to score his 52 runs and it eventually went in vain as Afghanistan won the game to clinch the series. One of the reasons behind dropping Hope could be to try out other options ahead of next year’s T20 World Cup. Meanwhile, Nicholas Pooran has returned to the T20I side after missing the last series due to suspension for tampering with the ball.


Pooran will be available for selection from the second T20I and will also be the deputy for captain Kieron Pollard. On the other hand, Hope will be the vice-captain in the three-match ODI series. Fabian Allen, who missed out the series against Afghanistan after picking up a knee injury in the first game, has returned to the side too. Ramdin, who picked up hamstring trouble, is also fit again.

Bigger challenge for the West Indies

Ahead of the series, West Indies head coach Phil Simmons made it clear that India are a stronger opposition than Afghanistan. Given West Indies’ recent performances against India, it will be a herculean task for them to get a positive result against the Men in Blue. Simmons also said that the team management is trying out different players ahead of the next two T20 World Cups.

“In the T20s this will be another chance for them to play and development, and again no disrespect to Afghanistan, this should be a stronger T20 country and we will look to see how they perform against India,” said Simmons according to Cricbuzz.

“The next World Cup is in Australia (2020) and the one after that is here in India (2021) so there is a lot of preparation to be done for first for Australia, so we have given the players here a chance in this series and we know we have players outside who may be coming in later on as well, so it’s good to give those here another opportunity,” he added.

Unlike the T20Is, West Indies have retained the ODI squad that recently blanked Afghanistan 3-0 in Lucknow. It was West Indies’ first ODI series win since 2014. Meanwhile, the three-match T20I series will start from December 6 in Hyderabad.

ODI Squad:

Kieron Pollard (c), Sunil Ambris, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.

T20I Squad:

Kieron Pollard (c), Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Denesh Ramdin, Sherfane Rutherford, Lendl Simomns, Keserick Williams, Hayden Walsh Jr.