IPL 2018: Teams and jerseys for the upcoming season

IPL 2018: Teams and jerseys for the upcoming season

Apart from the Rajasthan Royals, every team has unveiled their jersey.

IPL 2015 champions
IPL 2015 champions. (Photo Source: Firstpost)

The eleventh edition of the Indian Premier  League (IPL) will be underway in a few days. The tournament has panned put to be a massive success and has grown in stature over the last ten seasons. The retention ceremony was staged in December after which the auction took place in Bangalore where several players went down the hammer.

The Right to Match (RTM) card was used in the auction which added a different dimension to the event. Mumbai Indians and the Chennai Super Kings would be locking horns in the opening game at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Meanwhile, the eight teams have also announced their jerseys for the upcoming edition of the T20 league. Here are the teams and their jerseys.

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings will be making a comeback after serving their two-year suspension period. They have retained their yellow jersey, which has a symbol of a lion on it. Meanwhile, the crowd in Chennai would be itching to see MS Dhoni’s boys take charge in the event.

Can't resist the whistles, can we?! ?? #WhistlePodu

A post shared by Chennai Super Kings (@chennaiipl) on

Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils didn’t have an auspicious campaign last time around. However, they have selected Gautam Gambhir as their skipper and would be hoping to turn their fortunes around. Meanwhile, their jersey is more or less the same compared to what it was last season.

Straight Outta Dilli! ? #DilDilli

A post shared by Delhi Daredevils (@officialdaredevils) on

Kings XI Punjab

Kings XI Punjab hasn’t won the championship yet. Nevertheless, they have the players to defeat oppositions. Meanwhile, they have appointed Ravichandran Ashwin as their skipper with Yuvraj Singh back in the side as well. However, Here is the red jersey they will be donning this year.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians are the defending champions of the tournament and have also retained Rohit Sharma as the leader. Even this time around, they have a strong team in their armoury, which can humble opponents. The jersey of the franchise is a combination of blue and gold.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders are the winners of a couple of championships in 2012 and 2014. Recently, the franchise had a press conference where they launched their new jersey, which hasn’t been tinkered much from the previous season. Here is their armour.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore ended last year at the bottom of the table. Meanwhile, they have retained the likes of AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli and would desperately be wanting to stage a comeback. Meanwhile, they also have a new jersey, a red and black outfit.

RCB jersey
RCB jersey for IL 2018. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad has been jolted with a body blow as David Warner won’t play for them this season. However, they have selected Kane Williamson as the leader. Meanwhile, their orange cum black jersey hasn’t been altered much from the last season.

Rajasthan Royals  

Rajasthan Royals, after serving a two-year ban, will come back in the upcoming edition. Recently, Steve Smith won’t be playing for them owing to his one-year suspension. They haven’t announced their new jersey and are expected to don the same blue apparel.

Perfect practice session with my mates #focus ??

A post shared by Ajinkya Rahane (@ajinkyarahane) on