Most T20I Centuries List | List of Most T20I Hundreds in Cricket History

Top 5 Players With Most T20I Centuries in Cricket History

KL Rahul and Glenn Maxwell are the only players with more than one century in T20I chases.

Glenn Maxwell
Glenn Maxwell celebrates. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images for ECB)

For any batsman, scoring a century for his team in International cricket is among the biggest achievements. However, in the shortest format of the game i.e. T20Is, it becomes difficult to cross the 100-run mark given the lack of balls to be faced. Most of the time it has been seen that centuries in this format are scored by an opener or to an extent by the number 3 batsman.

Teams also give more opportunities in the middle to those players in the top order who can bat long and score runs at a fast pace. In this article, we will be listing out those players who have smashed the most centuries in T20 Internationals.

Indian opener Rohit Sharma holds the record for scoring the most number of hundreds in the shortest format of the game. He has four tons to his name in T20Is and has also slammed 22 fifties. He has aggregated 2864 runs so far in 103 T20I innings at an average of 32.54 and a strike rate of 138.96. He is the only Indian to feature in more than 100 T20Is and also smash more than 100 sixes in the format.

After Rohit Sharma, there are two players who have three centuries each in their T20I career. This includes Aussie batsman Glenn Maxwell and the Kiwi opener Colin Munro. Maxwell has scored 1780 runs at an average of 31.78 and an impressive strike rate of 158.92. He has also hit 9 half-centuries along with a high score of 145* in the format.

Colin Munro has been among the most successful openers for New Zealand in T20Is. He has amassed 1724 runs in 62 innings so far with an average of 31.34 and a strike rate of 156.44. Apart from three hundreds, he has smacked 11 fifties in T20Is.

There a total of six players who have smashed two centuries in their T20I career. This includes Aaron Finch, Chris Gayle, Martin Guptill, Evin Lewis, Brendon McCullum and KL Rahul. Among these only Martin Guptill has been part of more than 100 T20Is. He has also scored second-most runs in the format to date, after Indian captain Virat Kohli. KL Rahul along with Glenn Maxwell are the only players who have scored more than one century in T20I chases.

Most Centuries in T20Is

Player Inns Centuries Runs Avg Strike Rate
Rohit Sharma 103 4 2864 32.54 138.96
Glenn Maxwell 65 3 1780 31.78 158.92
Colin Munro 62 3 1724 31.34 156.44
Aaron Finch 71 2 2346 38.45 152.14
Chris Gayle 57 2 1656 31.24 140.81
Martin Guptill 98 2 2939 32.29 136.82
Evin Lewis 34 2 989 30.9 155.74
Brendon McCullum 70 2 2140 35.66 136.21
KL Rahul 45 2 1557 39.92 142.19

*Last updated on 17th May 2021