Virat Kohli’s controversial dismissal against MI: Here’s what MCC law states
Kohli was evidently furious with the decision.
Updated - Apr 10, 2022 10:34 am
Although Royal Challengers Bangalore recorded a comfortable seven-wicket win over Mumbai Indians on Saturday (April 9), Virat Kohli’s dismissal ignited a major controversy. The former RCB captain was adjudged LBW off the first ball of the 19th over, which was bowled by Dewald Brevis. It was a full-length delivery that seemed to have smashed Kohli’s bat and pad simultaneously and the on-field umpire was happy to raise his index finger.
Kohli was evidently furious with the decision as he asked for a review and the third umpire came in action. The replay showed that there might be an inside edge before the ball smashed the pad. Even if this is not the case, the ball has at least made contact with the bat and pad simultaneously. Surprisingly, however, the decision remained out as the third umpire didn’t get ‘conclusive evidence’ to overturn the decision.
Virat Kohli’s dismissal didn’t go down well with fans
The 33-year-old wasn’t happy with the decision and so weren’t the fans. It also ignited a debate of what an umpire should do in the case of the ball making contact with bat and pad at the same time. Well, as per the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the custodian of cricket laws, the batter should be given the benefit in such LBW calls.
“In assessing point 36.1.3, if the ball makes contact with the striker’s person and bat simultaneously, this shall be considered as the ball having first touched the bat,” states the law. As far as Kohli’s dismissal is concerned, it was at least evident that the ball hasn’t touched the pad before making contact with the bat. Hence, as per MCC’s laws, the decision should have been in Kohli’s favour.
Nonetheless, the incident didn’t have much impact on the game as RCB comfortably chased down 152 in 18.3 overs, recording their third victory in IPL 2022. Meanwhile, young opener Anuj Rawat was the chief architect of RCB’s win as he scored a quickfire 66 to take his side over the line.