IPL 2020: Match 9, RR vs KXIP – Record IPL chase, Mayank's record hundred, Tewatia’s six-hitting and more stats

IPL 2020: Match 9, RR vs KXIP – Record IPL chase, Mayank’s record hundred, Tewatia’s six-hitting and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from yet another high-scoring match in Sharjah.

Jofra Archer and Glenn Maxwell
Jofra Archer and Glenn Maxwell. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Rajasthan Royals remain unbeaten in the IPL 2020 as they cruised to a 4-wicket win following a successful chase of the 224-run target against Kings XI Punjab on Sunday. Mayank Agarwal (106 off 50) and KL Rahul (69 off 54) took on the RR bowlers and shared a 183-run opening stand in only 16.3 overs. Later, Nicholas Pooran’s 8-ball 25* helped KXIP to finish with 223/2 in their 20 overs.

Steve Smith (50 off 27) and Sanju Samson (85 off 42) gave the much-needed start in the chase for the Rajasthan Royals. However, they got slowed down in the second half due to Rahul Tewatia’s knock who at one stage, stood on 8 off 19 balls. But Tewatia smashed five sixes during the 18th over bowled by Sheldon Cottrell as the Royals got over the line with three balls to spare.

Here are all the statistical highlights from yet another high-scoring match in Sharjah:

Yet another run-feast in Sharjah:

449 – A total of 449 runs were aggregated by both the teams in this match, making it the 4th highest aggregated match in the history of IPL. These are also the most number of runs scored during an IPL game outside India.

Also Read: Top 5 Highest Match Totals in IPL History

Royals break their own record:

224 – Rajasthan Royals’ chase of 224 in this match is now the highest successful chase in the history of Indian Premier League. Royals broke their own record as their chase of 215 against Deccan Chargers in 2008 was the previous biggest.

226/6 – The total of 226/6 by Rajasthan Royals is now the highest IPL total during a chase surpassing Royals’ total of 223/5 while chasing a target of 247 against CSK in 2010.

Fifties galore in Sharjah:

5 – This match between Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals became the first in the IPL to witness as many as five 50+ individual scores. Mayank Agarwal scored a hundred while KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Steve Smith and Rahul Tewatia struck fifties.

4 – Rajasthan Royals became only the 4th team in the IPL which had three players scoring fifties in the same inning. Delhi Daredevils in 2012 against Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2017 against Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders against Mumbai Indians last year were the other three instances.

A record hundred from Mayank:

45 – Mayank Agarwal completed his century in 45 deliveries which is now the 2nd fastest IPL century by an Indian. Yusuf Pathan reached a century in only 37 balls for Rajasthan Royals against Mumbai Indians in 2010.

Also Read: Mayank Agarwal scored second-fastest century by an Indian in IPL

13 – Mayank’s hundred was the 13th individual century ever recorded in the IPL for Kings XI Punjab. The 13 centuries by KXIP are the joint-most by any team in the IPL alongside Royal Challengers Bangalore who also has recorded 13 individual IPL tons.

Samson guides Royals in yet another six-hitting fest:

18 – The 18 sixes hit by Rajasthan Royals in this match are the most they struck in an IPL match surpassing the 17 maximums during the game against CSK last week. Royals never hit more than 15 sixes in an IPL inning before this season.

105 – Sanju Samson completed 100 sixes in the IPL with the second of the seven sixes he struck during this match. He is now the 19th player and only the 11th Indian to smash as many as 100 sixes in this league.

Also Read

Tewatia’s six-hitting massacre:

7 – Rahul Tewatia struck seven sixes during his 53-run knock but did not hit a four. He is now the 3rd player in the IPL history to smash as many as seven sixes in an innings without a four. Nitish Rana against KXIP and Sanju Samson against Gujarat Lions respectively also hit seven sixes without a four in 2017.

5 – Number of sixes Tewatia struck during the 18th over; the joint-most number of sixes hit by a player in an over in the IPL. Chris Gayle also struck five sixes in an over off Rahul Sharma in the 2012 season.

A record opening stand for the KXIP:

183 – The opening stand of 183 between KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal is the 3rd highest for the first wicket in the IPL. It is also the 2nd highest stand for any wicket for KXIP behind the 206-run partnership for the 2nd wicket between Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh in 2011 against RCB.

183 – The stand of 183 by Rahul-Agarwal pair is the highest in the IPL between two Indians. The previous highest IPL partnership between two Indians was 158 between Gautam Gambhir and Robin Uthappa for the 2nd wicket in 2017 season against Rising Pune Supergiant.

1 – This 183-run stand is also the highest for the Twenty20 history between any two Indians for the first wicket. KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma shared a 163-run opening stand for India in the 2017 Indore T20I against Sri Lanka.

Also Read: Agarwal and Rahul stitch the third-best opening stand

Cottrell concedes way too many:

17.33 – Sheldon Cottrell’s economy rate of 17.33 in this match is the 3rd worst for a KXIP bowler who bowled three or more overs in an IPL game. KC Cariappa was taken for 55 runs in his three overs (18.33) during the 2016 season match against RCB while Basil Thampi conceded 70 runs in his four overs (17.5) also against RCB in 2018.