IPL 2020: Final, MI vs DC – Mumbai creates history, Milestones for MI openers, Ishan's sixes and more stats

IPL 2020: Final, MI vs DC – Mumbai creates history, Milestones for MI openers, Ishan’s sixes and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from Mumbai Indians’ 5-wicket win during the MI vs DC finale.

Trent Boult of Mumbai Indians
Trent Boult of Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Mumbai Indians were successful in defending the IPL title with yet another clinical win against the Delhi Capitals in the final. Trent Boult continued his good form with the new ball as he dismissed Marcus Stoinis on the very first ball of the game. Delhi lost three wickets in the powerplay before Shreyas Iyer (65*) and Rishabh Pant (56) rescued them with fifties. Chasing 157 to win, the Mumbai Indians got a perfect start with their skipper Rohit Sharma smashing a 51-ball 68 as they completed the chase with eight balls to spare.

Here are all the statistical highlights from Mumbai Indians’ 5-wicket win during the MI vs DC finale:

Mumbai creates history:

2 –  Mumbai Indians became only the 2nd team after Chennai Super Kings to defend their IPL title. CSK, under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, won the IPL in 2010 and 2011 respectively.

5 – Mumbai Indians now have five titles in the Indian Premier League, the most number of titles for any team in a franchise T20 league. Overall, Sialkot Stallions (6 in Pakistan National T20 Cup) and Titans (SA Domestic T20) are the only other sides to win five or more titles in a T20 Championship.

MI thump DC yet again:

4-0Mumbai Indians won all the four matches they played in IPL 2020 against the Delhi Capitals. This is only the 3rd instance of a team winning as many as four games against an opponent in an IPL edition. CSK defeated SRH four times during the 2018 edition while MI got the better of CSK four times in 2019.

5 – Mumbai Indians extended their winning streak in the IPL against Delhi Capitals to five after their victory during the MI vs DC final. This is MI’s longest winning streak against the Delhi franchise which began in the reverse fixture of the 2019 season.

Iyer breaks Rohit’s record:

25y 340dShreyas Iyer was 25 years and 340 days old on Tuesday during the MI vs DC final making him the youngest captain to feature in an IPL final. The previous youngest was Rohit Sharma who was 26 years and 26 days old when he led MI to title win against CSK in 2013 IPL final.

Milestone match for MI openers:

200 – The MI vs DC final was the 200th appearance for Rohit Sharma in the IPL making him only the 2nd player of the league to feature in 200 matches after MS Dhoni.

200 – Quinton de Kock also completed 200 matches in the Twenty20 format during the finale. The South African wicketkeeper also went past 6000 runs in T20 cricket in this process.

IPL 2020: Rohit Sharma – The Trophy Daddy of Twenty20 cricket

Rabada finishes behind Bravo:

30 – Kagiso Rabada ended IPL 2020 with 30 wickets to his name; the 2nd most by any bowler in an IPL edition after Dwayne Bravo (32 wickets in IPL 2013). Rabada is also only the 6th player to pick as many as 30 wickets in a T20 series/tournament.

De Kock’s record-breaking season with the gloves:

22 – Quinton de Kock ended the IPL 2020 with a total of 22 dismissals making him only the 2nd player with 20+ dismissals in a T20 tournament. Rishabh Pant had claimed 24 dismissals during the 2019 IPL edition. De Kock’s 18 catches are also the joint-most for any wicketkeeper in a T20 tournament alongside Naman Ojha (in IPL 2016) and Rishabh Pant (in IPL 2019).

Ishan finishes behind Jayasuriya:

30 – Ishan Kishan became only the 2nd player to hit 30+ sixes in an IPL edition for Mumbai Indians. Sanath Jayasuriya struck 31 sixes in the inaugural 2008 edition which was the only other instance of a MI player hitting the most number of sixes in an IPL season.

Milestones for Pant and Krunal:

1000 – The winning run of the MI vs DC final scored by Krunal Pandya was his 1000th run in the IPL. Krunal is the 9th player to have aggregated 1000 runs in the IPL for the Mumbai Indians.

3018 – Rishabh Pant completed 3000 runs in the Twenty20 format when he went past his individual score of 38. The 56-run knock in the final was Pant’s maiden fifty in the IPL 2020.