IPL 2020: Match 34, DC vs CSK – Dhawan's maiden T20 ton, Delhi's thrilling win, Rabada's record and more stats

IPL 2020: Match 34, DC vs CSK – Dhawan’s maiden T20 ton, Delhi’s thrilling win, Rabada’s record and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from Delhi Capitals’ thrilling 5-wicket victory during DC vs CSK.

Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Delhi Capitals inch closer to sealing their playoff berth as they completed a 180-run chase on the penultimate ball against Chennai Super Kings on Saturday. Faf du Plessis scored 58 at the top while Ambati Rayudu (45* off 25) and Ravindra Jadeja (33* off 13) combined to score 50 in 21 balls to help CSK finish on 179/4. Shikhar Dhawan played through the chase scoring an unbeaten 101 from 58 balls before Axar Patel smashed three sixes in the final over to seal the match for Delhi Capitals.

Here are all the statistical highlights from Delhi Capitals’ thrilling 5-wicket victory during DC vs CSK:

End of CSK’s dominance over Delhi:

1 – The Delhi franchise has defeated the Chennai Super Kings for the first time in successive meetings in the IPL. Delhi Capitals won the fixture hosted by Dubai earlier this season with a margin of 44 runs. This is also the first-ever IPL season where the Delhi franchise defeated CSK twice. The head to head record between Chennai and Delhi teams in the IPL was 15-6 in the favour of CSK before this season.

A thrilling win for Delhi:

17 – The 17 runs chased by Delhi Capitals in the 20th over during DC vs CSK are now the most runs successfully chased by the Delhi franchise in the final over of an IPL game. Their previous highest was only 11 runs during the 2016 season game against the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

End of Dhawan’s century wait:

264Shikhar Dhawan scored his maiden century in the Twenty20 format in his 265th inning; the 2nd most number innings any player needed to scored his maiden T20 ton. Kieron Pollard tops the list as he struck his maiden hundred of this format in the 385th inning.

166 – Dhawan’s unbeaten 101* during DC vs CSK came in his 167th inning in the IPL. These are the 2nd most innings taken by any player for his maiden century in the Indian Premier League surpassing Virat Kohli who scored his maiden hundred in his 120th IPL inning.

Also Read

40 – Dhawan now has 40 fifty-plus scores in the IPL which are the joint 3rd most by any player and the 2nd most by an Indian in the IPL. David Warner (50), Virat Kohli (43) and AB de Villiers (40) are the other batters to have smashed as many as 40 fifty-plus scores in the league.

Rabada breaks Narine’s record:

27 – Kagiso Rabada completed 50 wickets in the IPL by dismissing Faf du Plessis during DC vs CSK. Rabada needed only 27 matches to reach this milestone making him the fastest to 50 IPL wickets by breaking the record held by Sunil Narine in 32 games.

A mixed game for the openers:

4 – Shikhar Dhawan is only the 4th opener to score a century in the IPL while his opening partner bagged a duck. Virender Sehwag (119 vs Deccan Chargers) and Quinton de Kock (108 vs RCB) scored such tons while playing for Delhi Daredevils in 2011 and 2016 seasons respectively.

Ajinkya Rahane in 2019 also played once such inning when he struck an unbeaten 105 for Rajasthan Royals against DC last year after Sanju Samson bagged a diamond duck.

2 – The DC vs CSK is only the 2nd match in the history of IPL where two openers bagged fifties while the other two scored 50+ runs. The first instance came during the game between RCB and DD in the 2016 edition: Virat Kohli scored 79 runs for Bangalore while Chris Gayle bagged a duck. For Delhi, Quinton de Kock struck a hundred while Shreyas Iyer registered a duck.

Axar finishes off in style:

420 – Axar Patel smashed an unbeaten 5-ball 21 during the DC vs CSK with a strike rate of 420 which is the 2nd highest batting strike rate in an IPL inning of five balls. The highest is recorded by Chris Morris who smashed an unbeaten 38 from nine balls at 422.22 strike rate for Delhi Daredevils against RPS in 2017.

Iyer @ 2000 runs:

2002 – Shreyas Iyer has completed 2000 runs in the IPL when he went past his individual score of 21 during DC vs CSK. He is now only the 2nd player to aggregate 2000 IPL runs for the Delhi franchise after Virender Sehwag (2174).

Chahar gets his bunnies:

5 – Deepak Chahar now has dismissed Prithvi Shaw on five instances in the IPL. The DC batsman has scored 38 runs in 39 balls across six innings in the bowling of Deepak in the IPL. Their earlier meeting of the season in Dubai was the first time where Prithvi was not been dismissed by Chahar in their face-off.

4 – Deepak Chahar now has dismissed Ajinkya Rahane in all four meetings in the IPL. The CSK pacer has conceded only 21 runs in 24 balls he bowled to Rahane across four innings.