MI vs RR Head to Head | RR vs MI H2H Stats & Records in IPL

MI vs RR Head to Head record in IPL history

Since 2018, Rajasthan have won 5 games out of 6 matches they have played against Mumbai.

Rohit Sharma and Sanju Samson
Rohit Sharma and Sanju Samson. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Mumbai Indians is certainly the most dominating team currently in the IPL scenario. They were the champions in the 2019 and the 2020 season. The team has maintained its core group of players which is one of the major reasons for their consistent performance in the tournament.

Rajasthan Royals, on the other hand, have failed to impress in recent years. They finished at number 7 and 8 respectively in the last 2 seasons. Rajasthan Royals were the champions of the inaugural IPL season, but have disappointed with their performance since then. This year MI and RR will be playing both their league matches against each other at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi.

Head to Head record:

Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals are neck and neck against each other in the 23 games in IPL history. Both teams have won 11 games each while 1 has resulted in a washout. However, since 2018, Rajasthan are ahead winning 5 out of 6 matches they have played against Mumbai. In IPL 2018 and 2019, RR won all their 4 games which they played against MI in the league stage. The IPL 2014 game between these teams when Aditya Tare hit a six to ensure a playoff berth for his side is still etched in the memories of cricket fans.

Matches Played MI Won RR Won Tie No Result
23 11 11 0 1

Top Performers:

In the current team players, Sanju Samson has scored the most runs (485) in the clashes between these two teams, followed by Kieron Pollard (357) and Rohit Sharma (357). In the wickets tally, Kieron Pollard (15) is at the top followed by Jofra Archer (12) and Jasprit Bumrah (11).

Last season results:

In IPL 2020, both teams won 1 game each they played against. In the first game, Mumbai posted a total of 193/4 with the help of an explosive knock from Suryakumar Yadav. The stylish batsman smashed 79 runs off 47 balls including 11 fours and 2 sixes. Chasing this target, Rajasthan were bundled out for 136 runs losing the game by 57 runs. Jasprit Bumrah was the pick of the bowlers taking 4 wickets for 20 runs.

In the second game, Ben Stokes played one of the most memorable innings slamming a fiery century. Mumbai put up a big total of 195/5 while batting first, including a blistering knock of 60 runs from Hardik Pandya in only 21 balls. In response to this total, Ben Stokes opened for RR and smashed 107 runs in only 60 balls.

He hit 14 fours and 3 sixes in his knock. He was well supported by Sanju Samson who smacked 54 runs off 31 balls with the help of 4 fours and 3 sixes.

Date Winner Won By Venue
26-Oct-2020 Rajasthan Royals 8 Wickets Abu Dhabi
6-Oct-2020 Mumbai Indians 57 Runs Abu Dhabi
20-April-2019 Rajasthan Royals 5 Wickets Jaipur
13-Apr-2019 Rajasthan Royals 4 Wickets Mumbai
13-May-2018 Rajasthan Royals 7 Wickets Mumbai
22-April-2018 Rajasthan Royals 3 Wickets Jaipur
1-May-2015 Mumbai Indians 8 Runs Mumbai
14-April-2015 Rajasthan Royals 7 Wickets Ahmedabad
25-May-2014 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Mumbai
19-May-2014 Mumbai Indians 25 Runs Ahmedabad
6-October-2013 Mumbai Indians 33 Runs Delhi
21-September-2013 Rajasthan Royals 7 Wickets Jaipur
24-Apr-2013 Mumbai Indians 4 Wickets Kolkata
17-April-2013 Rajasthan Royals 87 Runs Jaipur
15-April-2013 Mumbai Indians 14 Runs Mumbai
20-May-2012 Mumbai Indians 10 Wickets Jaipur
11-Apr-2012 Mumbai Indians 27 Runs Mumbai
20-May-2011 Rajasthan Royals 10 Wickets Mumbai
29-April-2011 Rajasthan Royals 7 Wickets Jaipur
11-April-2010 Mumbai Indians 37 Runs Jaipur
13-March-2010 Mumbai Indians 4 Runs Mumbai (BS)
14-May-2009 Rajasthan Royals 3 Wickets Durban
21-Apr-2009 Match Abandoned Durban
26-May-2008 Rajasthan Royals 5 Wickets Jaipur
7-May-2008 Mumbai Indians 7 Wickets Mumbai (DY)

For all the latest IPL live scores, news, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.